Wright beats van Gerwen to claim German Darts Championship title

It was German delight for Peter Wright on Sunday evening, as he beat Michael van Gerwen 6-3 in the HappyBet German Darts Championship final at Halle 39 in Hildesheim, to claim his second European Tour title.


The world number three survived and beat Stephen Bunting and Kim Huybrechts for the loss of just four legs, as he reached Sunday’s semi-final.

A familiar face awaited him, as he faced Gerwyn Price in a repeat of the UK Open final. This encounter was much closer though and Wright survived another scare, as Price missed double 20 for victory in the deciding leg.

The world number one wasn’t at the UK Open when Wright won his first PDC Major and Snakebite was eager to face van Gerwen in a PDC final. He got his wish, as Mighty Mike reached the final with some thumping victories. The Dutchman tore through Jermaine Wattimena before defeating Cristo Reyes, Ian White and Jelle Klaasen to reach the final.

Van Gerwen had defeated Wright in three finals on the European Tour last year and he made the more confident start to the final, going 2-0 with an 11-dart leg to break throw. The Dutchman soon found himself 3-2 up but Wright started to make his move, notching 13 and 14 dart legs either side of a shanghai finish on the 20’s to move 5-3 in front.

In fact, the surge from Wright was a decisive one and a clinical finish of 60 sealed a solid victory for the Scot, who took home his £25,000 share of the £135,000 prize pot.

It may well be considered a disappointing week for van Gerwen, by his own remarkably high standards. Every cloud seems to have had a dark lining, with his return to the summit of the Premier League on Thursday twinned with the end of his 44 game unbeaten streak on television. He would almost certainly have been looking to claim victory in Hildesheim

The PDC European Tour moves across Germany to Jena for the HappyBet German Darts Masters next. The tournament will be held on the weekend of April 15-17 and will see another 48 arrowsmiths compete for a share of the £135,000 prize pot.