HappyBet German Darts Championship: Key points and full results

The European Tour got off to a flying start at Halle 39 in Hildesheim as Peter Wright continued his fantastic form to beat Michael van Gerwen 6-3 to take his £25,000 share of the £135,000 prize pot.


Wright’s win was the main story of the weekend but the supporting cast also produced some moments of magic, none more so than the debutantes.

In fact, Diogo Portela made history, as he became the first Brazilian to win a match on the PDC European Tour. The 28-year-old from Rio beat Martin Schindler 6-3 in their first round clash and showed some decent form, throwing three maximums and cleaning up a 109 finish. Portela was beaten by Kim Huybrechts in the second round.

Fellow debutant Paul Harvey was also very impressive, averaging 102.78 and hitting seven 180’s as he thumped Ryan Meikle 6-2 in the opening round. He eventually fell to Benito van de Pas in round two.

Michael Plooy’s was one of mixed emotions, as he plundered in finishes of 136 and 160 to lead 3-1 against Christian Kist, only to miss a match dart and lose the deciding leg, as Kist took out 106 for the match.

Elsewhere, Paul Nicholson hadn’t played a game on the European Tour for three years before this weekend and announced his return with a first round 6-2 victory over Ryan Searle. The former Players Championship winner couldn’t follow the victory up though as the Spaniard Cristo Reyes dispatched him 6-3 in the second round.

It has been a season of firsts so far for Gerwyn Price, as his remarkable transition from rugby league to professional darts continues. This weekend it was his first ever European Tour semi-final, as he thrashed Krzysztof Ratajski before beating Kevin Painter and Mensur Suljovic before falling to Peter Wright.

Alan Norris has been in great form of late but his title defensive ended prematurely, as he fell to Kim Huybrechts in the third round. Huybrechts lost in the quarter-final to eventual winner Peter Wright but will take some confidence from his good run, having been eliminated from the Premier League himself on Thursday.

Similarly, Jelle Klaasen bounced back from Premier League relegation in style, as he reached the semi-finals. The Cobra had seen his Premier League campaign blighted by tendonitis and was eliminated on Thursday following a defeat to Adrian Lewis.

He looked rejuvenated in Germany this weekend though, starting his run by thumping Mick McGowan 6-1. He then beat Premier League rival Dave Chisnall 6-3 before edging Benito van de Pas to reach the semi-finals, where he was eventually beaten 6-1 by van Gerwen.

The two stand-out performances of the weekend came from Ian White and MvG.

White produced the premier performance of the third round, as he beat Darren Johnson 6-2. The world number 14 averaged 104.68 and boasted a 60% checkout success rate. Mighty Mike bettered this, taking less than 10 minutes to beat Jermaine Wattimena 6-1, with an average of 111.51.

Finally, comeback of the weekend has to go to Darren Johnson, who came back from 5-1 down to beat world number five James Wade in the second round.

Johnson, who reached a Players Championship event final earlier this month, took advantage of some poor finishing from Wade poor finishing and claimed victory in style, with a clinical 90 checkout. This was to be the highlight of Johnson’s weekend though, as he lost to Ian White in the following round.

Full Results

First Round

Richie Corner 6-2 Kirk Shepherd

Ryan Meikle 4-6 Paul Harvey

David Pallett 6-1 Veijo Viinikka

John Bowles 6-2 Stefan Stoyke

Ryan De Vreede 2-6 Krzysztof Ratajski

John Michael 2-6 Mick McGowan

Diogo Portela 6-3 Martin Schindler

Michael Plooy 5-6 Christian Kist

Dimitri Van den Bergh 6-4 Adam Hunt

Jan Dekker 6-5 Chris Quantock

Paul Nicholson 6-2 Ryan Searle

Mervyn King 6-5 Michael Rasztovits

Darren Johnson 6-1 Robert Allenstein

Jamie Bain 6-5 Chris Dobey

Jermaine Wattimena 6-1 Bernd Roith

Kevin Painter 6-5 Stephen Burton


Second Round

Gerwyn Price 6-1 Krzysztof Ratajski

Ian White 6-5 John Bowles

Jelle Klaasen 6-1 Mick McGowan

Jan Dekker 6-1 Michael Smith

Cristo Reyes 6-2 Paul Nicholson

Kim Huybrechts 6-1 Diogo Portela

Stephen Bunting 6-4 David Pallett

Alan Norris 6-4 Richie Corner

Darren Johnson 6-5 James Wade

Dave Chisnall 6-0 Dimitri Van den Bergh

Benito van de Pas 6-4 Paul Harvey

Peter Wright 6-5 Christian Kist

Michael van Gerwen 6-1 Jermaine Wattimena

Mensur Suljovic 6-3 Mervyn King

Kevin Painter 6-2 Simon Whitlock

Joe Cullen 6-2 Jamie Bain


Third Round

Michael van Gerwen 6-3 Cristo Reyes

Ian White 6-2 Darren Johnson

Jelle Klaasen 6-3 Dave Chisnall

Benito van de Pas 6-0 Jan Dekker

Peter Wright 6-2 Stephen Bunting

Kim Huybrechts 6-4 Alan Norris

Gerwyn Price 6-4 Kevin Painter

Mensur Suljovic 6-2 Joe Cullen



Michael van Gerwen 6-3 Ian White

Jelle Klaasen 6-4 Benito van de Pas

Peter Wright 6-2 Kim Huybrechts

Gerwyn Price 6-2 Mensur Suljovic



Michael van Gerwen 6-1 Jelle Klaasen

Peter Wright 6-5 Gerwyn Price



Peter Wright 6-3 Michael van Gerwen